Skip left
Load events

" All events

  • This event has already taken place.

VOICES Festival: TOWER OF BABEL Klangforum Wien

October 14, 2023 @ 19:00 - 22:45

Huge shadows lie over the many scenes of new music in the territory of the former Soviet Union, which is currently once again the scene of violent geopolitical conflicts. The lively exchange of important composers and performers between Tbilisi and Minsk, Yerevan and Moscow, Tashkent and Kyiv has come to a standstill, the dialog to a standstill. Music is once again in danger of being reduced to national self-assertion and a propaganda shield for supposed superiority. With the multi-part concert and discourse project "THE TOWER OF BABEL", Klangforum Wien is creating a programme that brings together uncompromising artistic positions from Armenia, Belarus, Estonia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Russia and Ukraine. Alternating between concert and discussion, the project explores the new in the music of today's post-Soviet societies.
Like a "Tower of Babel", the project is intended to stand out from this currently battered cultural landscape: polyphonic, still utopian and shining as both a place of refuge and a vantage point.

 

programme

Part 1
Hall: 19:00-19:45

Alexey Sysoev (Russia)
Col Pugno
Age Veeroos (Estonia)
I see feathers growing in the sand of the deserts
Jamilia Jazylbekova (Kazakhstan)
Les illusions de l`âme

Peter Rundel, Conductor

 

Panel 1: "Unheard Voices"
Room: 19:45-20:15

 

Part 2
Hall: 20:30-21:15

Anna Korsun (Ukraine)
UCHT
Asia Ahmetjanova (Latvia)
Beth
Aram Hovhannisyan (Armenia)
Strophes-Segments

Vitali Alekseenok, conductor
Markus Deuter, oboe
Michele Marelli, clarinet
Anders Nyqvist, trumpet
Krassimir Sterev, accordion

 

Panel 2: "United or divided"
Room: 21:15-21:45

 

Part 3
Hall: 22:00-22:45

Dariya Maminova (Russia)
I don't know whether the Earth is spinning or not...
Valery Voronov (Belarus)
Gigantomania for tam-tam solo
Alexander Khubeev (Russia)
The Codex of Thoughtcrimes

Vitali Alekseenok, conductor ( Maminova)
Peter Rundel, conductor ( Khubeev)
New vocal soloists
Dariya Maminova, voice

 

The programme was already performed with great success at the Wiener Konzerthaus on June 18/19, 2023.

performers

VOICES Festival: TOWER OF BABEL Klangforum Wien

Klangforum Vienna

Ensemble

Open in thought, virtuosic in performance, precise in listening - as one of the most internationally renowned ensembles for contemporary music, Klangforum Wien is dedicated to the artistic creation and expansion of experiential spaces in the present. A performance by Klangforum Wien is an event in the best sense of the word: a sensual experience whose immediacy you cannot escape.

VOICES Festival: TOWER OF BABEL Klangforum Wien

New vocal soloists

The seven singers of the Neue Vocalsolisten are constantly searching for new forms of vocal expression in exchange with composers. One focus is on working with artists who virtuously exploit the possibilities of digital media, with a passion for networking, playing with genres, dissolving space, perspectives and functions. Interdisciplinary formats between music theater, performance, installation and concert staging characterize up to 30 world premieres a year.

VOICES Festival: TOWER OF BABEL Klangforum Wien

Peter Rundel

Conductor

Peter Rundel 's deep penetration of complex scores from a wide variety of styles and eras, as well as his dramaturgical creativity, make him one of the most sought-after partners of leading orchestras, ensembles and opera houses. Under his precise direction, he creates multi-layered sound spaces with which he captivates his audiences; several recordings have already been awarded international prizes. His work has become a reference for contemporary music in particular, which is reflected in his close collaboration with important composers for numerous world premieres of new works.

VOICES Festival: TOWER OF BABEL Klangforum Wien

Vitali Alekseenok

Conductor

Belarusian conductor Vitali Alekseenok has attracted international attention after winning the 2021 Arturo Toscanini Conducting Competition in Parma, Italy, where he was awarded first prize and the audience prize.
In June 2021, Vitali Alekseenok became the new artistic director of the Ukrainian festival Kharkiv Music Fest, which organized numerous concerts in air-raid shelters, subways and hospitals in Kharkiv during the war.
Since the 2022/23 season, he has been working as Kapellmeister at the Deutsche Oper am Rhein (Düsseldorf, Germany).
Vitali Alekseenok is actively involved in educational work. He has lectured at the Ludwig Maximilian University in Munich and the Humboldt University in Berlin. He has also directed several educational projects and numerous youth orchestras in Western and Eastern Europe.

PROMOTER

VOICES Festival: TOWER OF BABEL Klangforum Wien

Details

Date:
October 14, 2023
Time:
19:00 - 22:45
Event categories:
,

Venue

Radialsystem - Hall
Holzmarktstrasse 33
Berlin, 10243
Telephone
030 28878850
Show venue website

Skip links
Lade Veranstaltungen

« Alle Veranstaltungen

  • Diese Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden.

VOICES Festival: TOWER OF BABEL Klangforum Wien

14. Oktober 2023 @ 19:00 - 22:45

Riesige Schatten liegen auf den vielen Szenen Neuer Musik im Gebiet der früheren Sowjetunion, das aktuell einmal mehr Schauplatz gewalttätiger geopolitischer Auseinandersetzungen ist. Der rege Austausch maßgeblicher Komponist*innen und Interpret*innen zwischen Tbilisi und Minsk, Eriwan und Moskau, Taschkent und Kyiv ist zum Stillstand, der Dialog zum Erliegen gekommen. Musik läuft wieder einmal Gefahr, auf nationale Selbstbehauptung und zum Propagandaschild vermeintlicher Überlegenheit reduziert zu werden. Mit dem mehrteiligen Konzert- und Diskursprojekt „THE TOWER OF BABEL“ entwirft das Klangforum Wien ein Programm, das kompromisslose künstlerische Positionen aus Armenien, Belarus, Estland, Georgien, Kasachstan, Lettland, Russland und der Ukraine zusammenbringt. Das Projekt erkundet im Wechsel zwischen Konzert und Gespräch das Neue in der Musik der heutigen postsowjetischen Gesellschaften.
Wie ein „Turm zu Babel“ soll das Projekt aus dieser aktuell so geschundenen Kulturlandschaft hervorragen: vielstimmig, nach wie vor utopisch und als Zufluchtsort wie Aussichtspunkt gleichermaßen strahlen.

 

Programm

Teil 1
Halle: 19:00-19:45 

Alexey Sysoev (Russland)
Col Pugno
Age Veeroos (Estland)
ich sehe Federn wachsen im Sand der Wüsten
Jamilia Jazylbekova (Kasachstan)
Les illusions de l`âme

Peter Rundel, Dirigent

 

Panel 1: "Unheard Voices"
Saal: 19:45-20:15 

 

Teil 2
Halle: 20:30-21:15

Anna Korsun (Ukraine)
UCHT
Asia Ahmetjanova (Lettland)
Beth
Aram Hovhannisyan (Armenien)
Strophes-Segments

Vitali Alekseenok, Dirigent
Markus Deuter, Oboe
Michele Marelli, Klarinette
Anders Nyqvist, Trompete
Krassimir Sterev, Akkordeon

 

Panel 2: "United or divided"
Saal: 21:15-21:45 

 

Teil 3
Halle: 22:00-22:45 

Dariya Maminova (Russland)
I don't know whether the Earth is spinning or not...
Valery Voronov (Belarus)
Gigantomania für Tamtam solo
Alexander Khubeev (Russland)
The Codex of Thoughtcrimes

Vitali Alekseenok, Dirigent ( Maminova)
Peter Rundel, Dirigent ( Khubeev)
Neue Vocalsolisten
Dariya Maminova, Stimme

 

Das Programm wurde bereits am 18./19.06.2023 mit großem Erfolg im Wiener Konzerthaus aufgeführt.

Mitwirkende

VOICES Festival: TOWER OF BABEL Klangforum Wien

Klangforum Wien

Ensemble

Offen im Denken, virtuos im Spiel, präzise im Hören - als eines der international renommiertesten Ensembles für zeitgenössische Musik widmet sich das Klangforum Wien der künstlerischen Gestaltung und Erweiterung von Erfahrungsräumen in der Gegenwart. Ein Auftritt des Klangforum Wien ist ein Ereignis im besten Sinne des Wortes: eine sinnliche Erfahrung, deren Unmittelbarkeit man sich nicht entziehen kann.

VOICES Festival: TOWER OF BABEL Klangforum Wien

Neue Vocalsolisten

Die sieben Sänger:innen von der Neue Vocalsolisten suchen im Austausch mit Komponist:innen stets nach neuen vokalen Ausdrucksformen. Ein Schwerpunkt ist dabei die Arbeit mit Künstler:innen, die virtuos die Möglichkeiten digitaler Medien ausreizen, mit Lust an der Vernetzung, im Spiel mit den Genres, im Auflösen von Raum, von Perspektiven und Funktionen. Interdisziplinäre Formate zwischen Musiktheater, Performance, Installation und Konzert-Inszenierung prägen bis zu 30 Uraufführungen im Jahr.

VOICES Festival: TOWER OF BABEL Klangforum Wien

Peter Rundel

Dirigent

Die tiefe Durchdringung komplexer Partituren der unterschiedlichsten Stilrichtungen und Epochen sowie seine dramaturgische Kreativität machen Peter Rundel zu einem der gefragtesten Partner führender Orchester, Ensembles und Opernhäuser. Unter seiner präzisen Leitung entstehen vielschichtige Klangräume, mit denen er sein Publikum in den Bann zieht; mehrere Aufnahmen wurden bereits mit internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet. Insbesondere für die zeitgenössische Musik ist seine Arbeit zu einer Referenz geworden, die sich u.a. in der engen Zusammenarbeit mit bedeutenden Komponist*innen für zahlreiche Uraufführungen neuer Werke niederschlägt.

VOICES Festival: TOWER OF BABEL Klangforum Wien

Vitali Alekseenok

Dirigent

Der belarusische Dirigent Vitali Alekseenok hat internationale Aufmerksamkeit erregt, nachdem er den Arturo Toscanini Dirigierwettbewerb 2021 in Parma, Italien, gewonnen hat, wo er den ersten Preis und den Publikumspreis erhielt.
Im Juni 2021 wurde Vitali Alekseenok neuer künstlerischer Leiter des ukrainischen Festivals Kharkiv Music Fest, das während des Krieges zahlreiche Konzerte in Luftschutzkellern, U-Bahnen und Krankenhäusern in Charkiw veranstaltet hat.
Seit der Spielzeit 2022/23 arbeitet er als Kapellmeister an der Deutschen Oper am Rhein (Düsseldorf, Deutschland).
Vitali Alekseenok ist aktiv in der pädagogischen Arbeit tätig. Er hat Vorträge an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München und der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin gehalten. Außerdem leitete er mehrere Bildungsprojekte und zahlreiche Jugendorchester in West- und Osteuropa.

PROMOTER

VOICES Festival: TOWER OF BABEL Klangforum Wien

Details

Datum:
14. Oktober 2023
Zeit:
19:00 - 22:45
Veranstaltungskategorien:
,

Veranstaltungsort

Radialsystem – Halle
Holzmarktstraße 33
Berlin, 10243
Telefon
030 28878850
Veranstaltungsort-Website anzeigen
Entdecken
Ziehen