Subscribe to our newsletter





    The Beethoven Experience

    gfbgfbgfbgfbgfb
    Lade Veranstaltungen
    • Diese Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden.
    Stadthalle – Kongress Palais Kassel
    Mi, 11 Dez 2019 20:00

    The Beethoven Experience

    Zum Eintritt in das 250. Geburtsjahr Ludwig van Beethovens, gastiert Jan Caeyers, führender Beethoven-Interpret unserer Zeit, gemeinsam mit seinem Beethoven-Orchester Le Concert Olympique, das aus Spitzenmusikern aus ganz Europa besteht, erstmals in Kassel. Kristian Bezuidenhout, international gefeierter Protagonist der Pianoforte-Szene, spielt einen Erard-Flügel aus dem Jahr 1837.

    Das außergewöhnliche Format dieses Konzerts – zuerst eine Klaviersonate, dann ein Klavierkonzert und schließlich eine Symphonie – durchbricht das übliche Konzertritual und ist durch die Tatsache motiviert, dass sich musikalische Neuerungen bei Beethoven immer zuerst in seiner Klaviermusik niederschlugen, bevor sie sich in der Orchestermusik durchsetzten.

    Vor der Pause werden zunächst zwei Werke aus den neunziger Jahren des 18. Jahrhunderts gespielt, in denen das Klavier – Beethovens natürliches musikalisches Biotop – die zentrale Rolle spielt und worin Beethoven auf originelle Art und Weise die Errungenschaften des klassischen Stils verarbeitet.

    Ab 1802 – nach seiner großen existentiellen Krise, die mit dem „Heiligenstädter Testament” ihren Abschluss fand – schreibt er eine ganz andere Musik. Die 3. Symphonie hat völlig neue Dimensionen, sowohl im Aufbau als auch im Ausdruck. Symbolisch steht sie für die neue Art und Weise, wie Beethoven – und nach ihm die Komponisten der Romantik – über Musik und Kunst denken. (Jan Caeyers)

    Jan Caeyers

    View Artists Media

    Jan Caeyers ist Dirigent und Musikwissenschaftler. Er lebte, studierte und arbeitete viele Jahre in Wien. Von 1993 bis 1997 war er dort Assistent von Claudio Abbado beim Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester. Bei dieser Gelegenheit arbeitete er auch eng mit Bernard Haitink und Pierre Boulez zusammen.

    Bis 2003 war Jan Caeyers Chefdirigent der auf historischen Instrumenten musizierenden Beethoven-Akademie und in dieser Funktion jahrelang „Artist in residence“ am deSingel in Antwerpen. In dieser Zeit gastierte er mit der Beethoven-Akademie in den wichtigsten Konzertsälen Europas, darunter der Wiener Musikverein, Mozarteum in Salzburg, Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Palais des Beaux Arts (Bozar) in Brüssel, Cité de la Musique in Paris und Auditorio Nazional in Madrid. Als Gastdirigent hat Jan Caeyers unter anderem das Antwerp Symphony Orchestra, die Stuttgarter Oper und Orchester in Berlin, Paris, Madrid, Barcelona und Prag geleitet. Er hat zudem europäische Spitzenchöre wie den Arnold Schönberg Chor in Wien oder den Nederlands Kamerchor dirigiert.

    2009 erschien als Ergebnis langjähriger Arbeit seine Biografie Ludwig van Beethovens bei De Bezige Bij in Amsterdam. Sie wurde einhellig gelobt, verkaufte sich hervorragend und ist inzwischen in siebter Auflage auf dem Markt. 2012 erschien unter dem Titel Beethoven: Der einsame Revolutionär eine deutsche Übersetzung bei C. H. Beck in München. Seitdem dieses Buch auch in Deutschland zu einem Bestseller geworden ist, gilt es weltweit als Referenzwerk über Beethoven. Andere Übersetzungen folgten oder sind in Arbeit, darunter eine ungarische, chinesische und arabische. Im Beethoven-Jahr 2020 erscheint eine überarbeitete deutsche Neuausgabe und eine englische Übersetzung.

    Im Jahr 2010 gründete der Beethovenkenner sein Orchester Le Concert Olympique, mit dem er im gleichen Jahr mit zwei aufsehenerregenden Konzerten am deSingel debütierte. Im Februar 2018 wurde Jan Caeyers auch Künstlerischer Leiter des in Berlin neu gegründeten Vereins Internationale Beethoven Akademie e.V.

    Le Concert Olympique

    View Artists Media

    Der Dirigent und Beethoven-Biograph Jan Caeyers will mit seinem Orchester Le Concert Olympique, für das er rund 50 hervorragende Musiker aus ganz Europa um sich geschart hat, der Musik Beethovens und seiner Zeitgenossen in exemplarischen Interpretationen Gestalt geben. Alle Mitglieder des Orchesters teilen die Liebe zur Musik und den Ehrgeiz, die Werke der Wiener Klassik auf ebenso traditionsbewusste wie frische Weise zu spielen und dabei einen Ausführungsstil zu entwickeln, der zugleich historisch motiviert und modern ist.

    2010 debütierte Le Concert Olympique mit zwei aufsehenerregenden Konzerten am deSingel in Antwerpen, wo es seit seiner Gründung, ebenso wir am Flagey in Brüssel, residiert. Seitdem gastierte es auch an anderen wichtigen Konzerthäusern wie dem Wiener Musikverein oder De Doelen in Rotterdam. Im Herbst 2017 gab es sein Debüt beim Beethovenfest Bonn und in der Berliner Philharmonie und begeisterte das Publikum auch im Wiener Konzerthaus und im Concertgebouw Amsterdam mit programmatisch ausgefeilten Konzerten. Im Dezember 2018 debütierte das Orchester mit Beethovens Missa Solemnis im Rahmen der Herbstfestspiele am Festspielhaus Baden-Baden.

    Le Concert Olympique kommt nur einige Male im Jahr für seine ambitionierten Projekte zusammen. Der festliche Charakter der Konzerte wird durch die Tatsache unterstrichen, dass die Musiker vom Antwerpener Modehaus Maison Anna Heylen eingekleidet werden. Diese Zusammenarbeit illustriert ihr gemeinsames Ziel, die klassische Tradition mit einem modernen Erleben zu kombinieren.

    Der Name Le Concert Olympique verweist ausdrücklich auf Le Concert de la Société Olympique, die bekannteste Pariser Konzertreihe zwischen 1782 und 1789. Le Concert de la Société Olympique hat vor allem durch die Bestellung von sechs Sinfonien bei Joseph Haydn – den Pariser Sinfonien – im Jahr 1785 für Aufsehen gesorgt. Dieser Auftrag gilt allgemein als Geburt der modernen klassischen Sinfonie.

    Event Details

    Date: 11th Dezember 2019 @ 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm
    Time: 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm
    Venue: Stadthalle – Kongress Palais Kassel

Subscribe to our newsletter





    The Beethoven Experience

    gfbgfbgfbgfbgfb
    Loading Events
    • This event has passed.
    Stadthalle – Kongress Palais Kassel
    Wed, 11 Dec 2019 20:00

    The Beethoven Experience

    Entering Ludwig van Beethoven`s 250th birthday, leading Beethoven interpreter Jan Caeyers and his orchestra Le Concert Olympique will appear in Kassel for the very first time. The concert will feature the celebrated protagonist of the international fortepiano scene Kristian Bezuidenhout, who will play an Erard grand piano from 1837.

    The unusual format of this concert – first a piano sonata, then a piano concerto and finally a symphony – intentionally breaks with tradition, which is motivated by the fact that musical innovations were always first reflected in Beethoven’s piano music before becoming established in his orchestral works.

    Two works from the late 18th century will be performed in the first half of the concert, in which the piano, Beethoven’s natural musical habitat, plays the central role. They demonstrate how Beethoven transforms the achievements of the classical style in a highly original way. From 1802 – following his existential crisis, the conclusion of which is evidenced in his “Heiligenstadt Testament” – Beethoven writes completely different music. His Third Symphony has entirely new dimensions in its structure and its expression. It symbolises the new way in which Beethoven – and after him the composers of the Romantic age – began to think about art and music. (Jan Caeyers)

    Jan Caeyers

    View Artists Media

    Jan Caeyers is a Belgian conductor and musicologist. He lived, studied and worked in Vienna for many years. From 1993 to 1997, he was assistant to Claudio Abbado at the Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester. During this time, he also worked closely with Bernard Haitink and Pierre Boulez.

    Until 2003, Caeyers was director of the Beethoven Academy, a period instrument orchestra with which he was “artist in residence” at deSingel in Antwerp. With the Beethoven Academy, Jan Caeyers toured major European concert halls including Musikverein Vienna, Salzburg Mozarteum, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Cité de la Musique in Paris, and Auditorio Nazional in Madrid. As guest conductor, Jan Caeyers has led Antwerp Symphony, Staatsoper Stuttgart and orchestras in Berlin, Paris, Madrid, Barcelona and Prague. He has also conducted leading European choirs like the Arnold Schoenberg Chor in Vienna or the Nederlands Kamerkoor.

     

    In 2009, as a result of many years of research, his biography of Ludwig van Beethoven was published in Dutch by De Bezige Bij in Amsterdam. Meanwhile in its seventh edition, the superbly documented and elegantly written book has met with an enthusiastic reception. In 2012, the German translation was published by C. H. Beck in Munich under the title “Beethoven: Der einsame Revolutionär” (The lonely revolutionary). Since becoming a bestseller in Germany, it has been considered a reference work on Beethoven worldwide. Other translations have followed or are in preparation, including editions in Hungarian, Chinese and Arabic. In the Beethoven year 2020, a revised German edition and an English translation will be published.

    In 2010, Jan Caeyers founded his own Beethoven orchestra, Le Concert Olympique, with which he gave two sensational debut concerts in the same year at deSingel. In February 2018, Jan Caeyers was named Artistic Director of the newly founded Internationale Beethoven Akademie e.V. in Berlin.

    Le Concert Olympique

    View Artists Media

    Le Concert Olympique was founded in 2010 as the brainchild of Beethoven expert and conductor Jan Caeyers. He gathered 50 of the finest musicians from all over Europe to provide a contemporary experience of a timeless tradition with relevant and authentic performances of masterpieces by Beethoven and his contemporaries. All members of the orchestra share the love of music and the ambition to perform the works of the Viennese classical era in a fresh way and, at the same time, conscious of tradition, while developing a unique style that is both modern and historically motivated.

    The orchestra has two residencies in Belgium: one at the Flagey in Brussels, and one at deSingel in Antwerp, where it started off with two sensational debut concerts in 2010. Since then, Le Concert Olympique has been invited to many other prestigious concert halls such as the Vienna Musikverein and De Doelen in Rotterdam. In the fall of 2017, the orchestra made its debut at the Beethovenfest Bonn and the Berlin Philharmonie. With its sophisticated programs, it also thrilled audiences at the Vienna Konzerthaus and the Amsterdam Concertgebouw. In December 2018, the orchestra debuted at the Festspielhaus Baden-Baden with Beethoven’s Missa Solemnis .

    The musicians of Le Concert Olympique only come together several times per year to work intensively on their ambitious projects. The festive character of their concerts is emphasized by the fact that the musicians are dressed in concert attire designed by the Antwerp fashion house Maison Anna Heylen. This collaboration illustrates their shared goal of combining classical tradition with a modern experience.

    The name Le Concert Olympique refers to “Le Concert de la Société Olympique”, the best-known concert series in Paris between 1782 and 1789. “Le Concert de la Société Olympique” commissioned six symphonies – his “Paris Symphonies” – from Joseph Haydn in 1785, which caused a stir and are generally considered the birth of the modern classical symphony.

    Event Details

    Date: 11th December 2019 @ 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm
    Time: 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm
    Venue: Stadthalle – Kongress Palais Kassel