f

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore. Excepteur sint lorem cupidatat.

You may like:

a

Rethinking Beethoven X

  /  Rethinking Beethoven X
Lade Veranstaltungen
Berliner Philharmonie, Kammermusiksaal
Sa, 6 Mrz 20:00
Tickets

Rethinking Beethoven X

Dieses Konzert muss erneut verschoben werden. Der neue Konzerttermin ist am Samstag, den 6. März 2021. Die Tickets behalten ihre Gültigkeit.

„Rethinking Beethoven X“ lautete der Arbeitstitel zur neuen Komposition von Jens Joneleit, die der Beethoven-Experte Jan Caeyers und sein Orchester Le Concert Olympique in Berlin präsentieren. Mit diesem Werk werden Beethovens Skizzen zu seiner 10. Sinfonie zu neuem Leben erweckt.

Diesem neuen Stück wird Schuberts 8. Symphonie gegenübergestellt – dem wohl bekanntesten Beispiel eines unvollendeten Werks. Das Programm wird durch Beethovens 5. Klavierkonzert abgeschlossen mit dem Wiener Pianisten Till Fellner als Solist, den eine langjährige erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit mit dem Orchester verbindet, darunter auch das Konzertdebut des Orchesters in der Berliner Philharmonie. Zu den hochrangigen Dirigenten, mit denen Till Fellner bereits konzertiert hat, zählen Claudio Abbado, Christoph Eschenbach, Bernard Haitink, Kurt Masur, Kent Nagano und Kirill Petrenko, sowie Orchester wie die Berliner Philharmoniker, das Boston Symphony Orchestra, das Tonhalle Orchester Zürich, das London Symphony Orchestra und das Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks. Für die Konzertperiode im Frühjahr mit LCO war Till Fellner bereits seit langem fest eingeplant gewesen und wird nun gemeinsam mit dem Orchester das ganz besondere Programm zum Jubiläum des 250. Beethovenjahres und des 10-jährigen Bestehens von Le Concert gestalten.

Noch wenige Tage vor seinem Tod wiederholte Beethoven in einem Brief nach London sein festes Vorhaben, die 10. Symphonie fertigzustellen. Joneleits leitende Idee ist eine Reise des leibhaftigen Beethoven in die Zukunft – unsere heutige Welt. Aus der Begegnung mit Beethovens gesammelten Erfahrungen und letzten Skizzen verspricht sich Joneleit, Impulse für seine eigene Arbeit: „Wie diese Reise für Beethoven einen Neubeginn bedeuten würde, so bedeutet die Begegnung mit ihm auch für mich einen Neuanfang, indem ich mir erlauben will, mit Beethoven zu komponieren – und nicht gegen ihn.“ Es geht also nicht um eine historische Rekonstruktion des beethovenschen Werks, sondern um eine zeitgenössische Umsetzung von Beethovens Intentionen – einen kreativen musikalischen Dialog mit Beethoven, aus dem etwas Neues entsteht.

Jan Caeyers und sein Orchester Le Concert Olympique, in dem führende Musiker aus ganz Europa zusammenwirken, gastieren schon seit Jahren erfolgreich in Berlin.

Till Fellner

View Artists Media

Till Fellner gehört zu jenen Ausnahmepianisten, denen es nicht um Show geht, sondern darum, den Willen des Komponisten mit der eigenen Klangvorstellung und unprätentiösen Zugangsweisen zu kombinieren.“ (OÖNachrichten Kultur, 2015)
Seit mehr als 20 Jahren ist der österreichische Pianist Till Fellner ein gefragter Gast bei den wichtigen Orchestern und in den großen Musikzentren Europas, der USA und Japans sowie bei zahlreichen bedeutenden Festivals.

Im Bereich der Kammermusik verbindet Till Fellner eine regelmäßige Zusammenarbeit mit dem Balcea Quartett und dem britischen Tenor Mark Padmore, mit dem er in der letzten Saison noch einen gemeinsamen Liederabend in Florenz (Amici della Musica Firenze) durchführen konnte, bevor weitere Konzerte im Musikverein Wien, Konzerthaus Berlin und beim Heidelberger Frühling aufgrund von Corona leider ausfallen mussten.

Till Fellner hat eine beeindruckende Diskographie bei den Labels EMI, Claves, Erato, Philips und ECM, wo auch der erste Band des Wohltemperierten Klaviers, sowie Kammermusik von Harrison Birtwistles mit Lisa Batiashvili, Adrian Brendel et al erschienen sind. Seine ECM-Aufnahme der Beethoven-Klavierkonzerte Nr. 4 und 5 mit Kent Nagano und dem Montreal Symphony Orchestra wurde für ihre Klarheit und makellose Schönheit ausgezeichnet; seine Aufnahmen von Bachs zwei- und dreistimmigen Inventionen und der Französischen Suite Nr. 5 erhielt zahlreiches Lob von Musikkritikern weltweit.

Jan Caeyers

View Artists Media

Jan Caeyers ist Dirigent und Musikwissenschaftler. Er lebte, studierte und arbeitete viele Jahre in Wien. Von 1993 bis 1997 war er dort Assistent von Claudio Abbado beim Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester. Bei dieser Gelegenheit arbeitete er auch eng mit Bernard Haitink und Pierre Boulez zusammen.  

Bis 2003 war Jan Caeyers Chefdirigent der auf historischen Instrumenten musizierenden Beethoven-Akademie und in dieser Funktion jahrelang „Artist in residence“ am deSingel in Antwerpen. In dieser Zeit gastierte er mit der Beethoven-Akademie in den wichtigsten Konzertsälen Europas, darunter der Wiener Musikverein, Mozarteum in Salzburg, Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Palais des Beaux Arts (Bozar) in Brüssel, Cité de la Musique in Paris und Auditorio Nazional in Madrid. Als Gastdirigent hat Jan Caeyers unter anderem das Antwerp Symphony Orchestra, die Stuttgarter Oper und Orchester in Berlin, Paris, Madrid, Barcelona und Prag geleitet. Er hat zudem europäische Spitzenchöre wie den Arnold Schönberg Chor in Wien oder den Nederlands Kamerchor dirigiert 

2009 erschien als Ergebnis langjähriger Arbeit seine Biografie Ludwig van Beethovens bei De Bezige Bij in Amsterdam. Sie wurde einhellig gelobt, verkaufte sich hervorragend und ist inzwischen in siebter Auflage auf dem Markt. 2012 erschien unter dem Titel Beethoven: Der einsame Revolutionär eine deutsche Übersetzung bei C. H. Beck in München. Seitdem dieses Buch auch in Deutschland zu einem Bestseller geworden ist, gilt es weltweit als Referenzwerk über Beethoven. Andere Übersetzungen folgten oder sind in Arbeit, darunter eine ungarische, chinesische und arabische. Im Beethoven-Jahr 2020 erscheint eine überarbeitete deutsche Neuausgabe und eine englische Übersetzung 

Im Jahr 2010 gründete der Beethovenkenner sein Orchester Le Concert Olympique, mit dem er im gleichen Jahr mit zwei aufsehenerregenden Konzerten am deSingel debütierte. Im Februar 2018 wurde Jan Caeyers auch Künstlerischer Leiter des in Berlin neu gegründeten Vereins Internationale Beethoven Akademie e.V. 

Le Concert Olympique

View Artists Media

Der Dirigent und Beethoven-Biograph Jan Caeyers will mit seinem Orchester Le Concert Olympique, für das er rund 50 hervorragende Musiker aus ganz Europa um sich geschart hat, der Musik Beethovens und seiner Zeitgenossen in exemplarischen Interpretationen Gestalt geben. Alle Mitglieder des Orchesters teilen die Liebe zur Musik und den Ehrgeiz, die Werke der Wiener Klassik auf ebenso traditionsbewusste wie frische Weise zu spielen und dabei einen Ausführungsstil zu entwickeln, der zugleich historisch motiviert und modern ist.  

2010 debütierte Le Concert Olympique mit zwei aufsehenerregenden Konzerten am deSingel in Antwerpen, wo es seit seiner Gründung, ebenso wir am Flagey in Brüssel, residiert. Seitdem gastierte es auch an anderen wichtigen Konzerthäusern wie dem Wiener Musikverein oder De Doelen in Rotterdam. Im Herbst 2017 gab es sein Debüt beim Beethovenfest Bonn und in der Berliner Philharmonie und begeisterte das Publikum auch im Wiener Konzerthaus und im Concertgebouw Amsterdam mit programmatisch ausgefeilten Konzerten. Im Dezember 2018 debütierte das Orchester mit Beethovens Missa Solemnis im Rahmen der Herbstfestspiele am Festspielhaus Baden-Baden.  

Le Concert Olympique kommt nur einige Male im Jahr für seine ambitionierten Projekte zusammen. Der festliche Charakter der Konzerte wird durch die Tatsache unterstrichen, dass die Musiker vom Antwerpener Modehaus Maison Anna Heylen eingekleidet werden. Diese Zusammenarbeit illustriert ihr gemeinsames Ziel, die klassische Tradition mit einem modernen Erleben zu kombinieren.  

Der Name Le Concert Olympique verweist ausdrücklich auf Le Concert de la Société Olympique, die bekannteste Pariser Konzertreihe zwischen 1782 und 1789. Le Concert de la Société Olympique hat vor allem durch die Bestellung von sechs Sinfonien bei Joseph Haydn – den Pariser Sinfonien – im Jahr 1785 für Aufsehen gesorgt. Dieser Auftrag gilt allgemein als Geburt der modernen klassischen Sinfonie. 

Event Details

Date: 6th März 2021 @ 8:00 pm
Time: 8:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Venue: Berliner Philharmonie, Kammermusiksaal

f

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore. Excepteur sint lorem cupidatat.

You may like:

a

Rethinking Beethoven X

  /  Rethinking Beethoven X
Loading Events
Philharmonie Berlin, Chamber Music Hall
Sat, 6 Mar 20:00
Tickets

Rethinking Beethoven X

This concert, originally planned for 27 April 2020, unfortunately has to be postponed again – to Saturday, 6 March, 2021, at the same time and place. Tickets will remain valid for this date.

“Rethinking Beethoven X” was the working title of Jens Joneleit’s new composition, which revives Beethoven’s sketches for his 10th Symphony. It will be premiered by Beethoven expert Jan Caeyers and his orchestra Le Concert Olympique in Berlin.

This new piece is juxtaposed with Schubert’s 8th Symphony – probably the best-known example of an unfinished work. The program concludes with Beethoven’s 5th piano concerto with the Viennese pianist Till Fellner as soloist, who has enjoyed a longstanding successful collaboration with Jan Caeyers and Le Concert Olympique, including at the orchestra’s concert debut at the Philharmonie Berlin. Till Fellner has been working regularly with high-ranking conductors including Claudio Abbado, Christoph Eschenbach, Bernard Haitink, Kurt Masur, Kent Nagano and Kirill Petrenko, as well as top-level orchestras such as the Berlin Philharmoniker, the Boston Symphony Orchestra, the Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich, the London Symphony Orchestra and the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra.

His collaboration with LCO in spring 2021 had long been planned for, and he is happy to join the orchestra in this very special program, which is not only designed to celebrate Beethoven’s 250th birthday, but also the 10th anniversary of Le Concert Olympique.

Only a few days before his death, Beethoven repeated his firm intention to complete the 10th Symphony in a letter to London. Joneleit’s guiding idea for sinfonia. X is Beethoven’s journey into the future – our world today. Joneleit’s exploration of Beethoven’s collected experiences and final sketches promise a deep meaning within his own work: “Just as this journey would mean a new beginning for Beethoven, the encounter with him also means a new beginning for me, in that I want to allow myself to compose with Beethoven – and not against him”. The aim is therefore not a historical reconstruction of Beethoven’s work, but a contemporary realization of Beethoven’s intentions – a creative musical dialogue with Beethoven from which something new emerges.

Jan Caeyers and his orchestra Le Concert Olympique, which gathers leading musicians from all over Europe to perform Beethoven together, have had successful guest appearances in Berlin for many years.

Till Fellner

View Artists Media

Pianist Till Fellner plays with scrupulous musicianship, purity of style, and sparkling keyboard command—qualities that have earned him acclaim throughout Europe, the United States and Japan. His readings of the works of Bach and Beethoven in particular have placed him among the elect in this repertoire, and the inspired ingenuity of his performances of such 20th century masters as György Kurtág and Elliott Carter have earned him many accolades.

In the last few seasons, he toured extensively throughout Europe and North America. His busy recital schedule included Paris, Vienna, Japan, Spain, Switzerland, Germany, Belgium and France.

Till Fellner has an impressive discography to his credit on the EMI, Claves, Erato, Philips, and ECM labels, such as a CD of Harrison Birtwistle’s Chamber Music with Lisa Batiashvili, Adrian Brendel, et al. His 2010 ECM recording of the Beethoven Piano Concertos Nos. 4 and 5, with Nagano and the Montreal Symphony, was singled out for its clarity and impeccable beauty. Fellner also appears on an ECM album of new works by Thomas Larcher. His recording of Bach’s Two-and Three-Part Inventions and French Suite No. 5 has received widespread critical praise.

Jan Caeyers

View Artists Media

Jan Caeyers is a Belgian conductor and musicologist. He lived, studied and worked in Vienna for many years. From 1993 to 1997, he was assistant to Claudio Abbado at the Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester. During this time, he also worked closely with Bernard Haitink and Pierre Boulez. 

Until 2003, Caeyers was director of the Beethoven Academy, a period instrument orchestra with which he was “artist in residence” at deSingel in Antwerp. With the Beethoven Academy, Jan Caeyers toured major European concert halls including Musikverein Vienna, Salzburg Mozarteum, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Cité de la Musique in Paris, and Auditorio Nazional in Madrid. As guest conductor, Jan Caeyers has led Antwerp Symphony, Staatsoper Stuttgart and orchestras in Berlin, Paris, Madrid, Barcelona and Prague. He has also conducted leading European choirs like the Arnold Schoenberg Chor in Vienna or the Nederlands Kamerkoor. 

In 2009, as a result of many years of research, his biography of Ludwig van Beethoven was published in Dutch by De Bezige Bij in Amsterdam. Meanwhile in its seventh edition, the superbly documented and elegantly written book has met with an enthusiastic reception. In 2012, the German translation was published by C. H. Beck in Munich under the title “Beethoven: Der einsame Revolutionär” (The lonely revolutionary). Since becoming a bestseller in Germany, it has been considered a reference work on Beethoven worldwide. Other translations have followed or are in preparation, including editions in Hungarian, Chinese and Arabic. In the Beethoven year 2020, a revised German edition and an English translation will be published. 

In 2010, Jan Caeyers founded his own Beethoven orchestra, Le Concert Olympique, with which he gave two sensational debut concerts in the same year at deSingel. In February 2018, Jan Caeyers was named Artistic Director of the newly founded Internationale Beethoven Akademie e.V. in Berlin. 

Le Concert Olympique

View Artists Media

Le Concert Olympique was founded in 2010 as the brainchild of Beethoven expert and conductor Jan Caeyers. He gathered 50 of the finest musicians from all over Europe to provide a contemporary experience of a timeless tradition with relevant and authentic performances of masterpieces by Beethoven and his contemporaries. All members of the orchestra share the love of music and the ambition to perform the works of the Viennese classical era in a fresh way and, at the same time, conscious of tradition, while developing a unique style that is both modern and historically motivated.

The orchestra has two residencies in Belgium: one at the Flagey in Brussels, and one at deSingel in Antwerp, where it started off with two sensational debut concerts in 2010. Since then, Le Concert Olympique has been invited to many other prestigious concert halls such as the Vienna Musikverein and De Doelen in Rotterdam. In the fall of 2017, the orchestra made its debut at the Beethovenfest Bonn and the Berlin Philharmonie. With its sophisticated programmes, it also thrilled audiences at the Vienna Konzerthaus and the Amsterdam Concertgebouw. In December 2018, the orchestra debuted at the Festspielhaus Baden-Baden with Beethoven’s Missa Solemnis .

The musicians of Le Concert Olympique only come together several times per year to work intensively on their ambitious projects. The festive character of their concerts is emphasized by the fact that the musicians are dressed in concert attire designed by the Antwerp fashion house Maison Anna Heylen. This collaboration illustrates their shared goal of combining classical tradition with a modern experience.

The name Le Concert Olympique refers to “Le Concert de la Société Olympique”, the best-known concert series in Paris between 1782 and 1789. “Le Concert de la Société Olympique” commissioned six symphonies – his “Paris Symphonies” – from Joseph Haydn in 1785, which caused a stir and are generally considered the birth of the modern classical symphony.

Event Details

Date: 6th March 2021 @ 8:00 pm
Time: 8:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Venue: Philharmonie Berlin, Chamber Music Hall