Skip left
Loading events

" All events

ST. JOHN'S PASSION

29 January 2023 @ 20:00

"The Gaechinger Cantorey is ... an experience. In the Great Hall there was a special highlight" wrote Marcus Stäbler in the Hamburger Abendblatt about the Elbphilharmonie debut a year ago: "The performers work magic, and the Great Hall works magic with them... Hans-Christoph Rademann models the mood changes of the [Nelson] Mass vividly and grippingly. With the 36 singers of his brightly awake choir, with whom he fans out a wide palette of dynamic shadings and finds enchanting colors again and again. With the no less strong orchestra of the Gaechinger Cantorey, which plays transparently and vividly on historical instruments."

Now the artists return with Johann Sebastian Bach's St. John Passion. First performed 299 years ago, it is still one of the most moving and at the same time most effective works in music history. The Gospel account of Christ's suffering and death is presented here in an extremely touching manner. Thus, the work is able to give comfort and confidence to engage us in a world that is still highly imperfect today, where violence and injustice continue to reign.

Programme

J.S. Bach St. John Passion BWV 245

Gaechinger Cantorey
Hans-Christoph Rademann, conductor
Miriam Feuersinger, soprano
Henriette Reinhold, alto
Patrick Grahl, tenor (arias)
Benedikt Kristjansson, tenor (Evangelist)
Matthias Winckhler, bass (Christ)
Tobias Berndt, bass (arias and Pilate)

Performers

ST. JOHN'S PASSION

GAECHINGER CANTOREY

Ensemble

The Gaechinger Cantorey are the ensembles of the International Bach Academy Stuttgart and unite top European musicians under the baton of academy director Hans-Christoph Rademann. Since the 2016/17 season, this name marks a new era for the already world-renowned ensembles of the Bach Academy, which for decades served as Bach ambassadors as the Bach Collegium Stuttgart and the Gächinger Kantorei Stuttgart under Helmuth Rilling. Now a newly founded baroque orchestra and the reformed choir combine to form a homogeneous original sound ensemble. The goal is to develop a new "Stuttgart Bach style" that will embody the hallmark of a Bach Academy of the future.

ST. JOHN'S PASSION

Hans-Christoph Rademann

Conductor

The conductor is an immensely versatile artist with a broad repertoire who devotes himself with equal passion to the performance and rediscovery of early music as to the premiere and cultivation of new music. Born in Dresden and raised in the Ore Mountains (Schwarzenberg), he was influenced early on by the great Central German cantorial and musical tradition. He was a student at the traditional Kreuzgymnasium, a member of the famous Kreuzchor, which celebrated its eight-hundredth anniversary in 2016, and studied choral and orchestral conducting at the Dresden Musikhochschule.

PROMOTER

ST. JOHN'S PASSION

Details

Date:
January 29, 2023
Time:
20:00
Event category:

Venue

Elbphilharmonie - Great Hall
Hamburg, Germany

Stay up to date with our newsletter.

Discover
Pull

Skip links
Lade Veranstaltungen

« Alle Veranstaltungen

JOHANNES-PASSION

29. Januar 2023 @ 20:00

„Die Gaechinger Cantorey ist … ein Erlebnis. Im Großen Saal gab es ein besonderes Glanzlicht“ schrieb Marcus Stäbler im Hamburger Abendblatt über das Elbphilharmonie-Debut vor einem Jahr:  „Die Interpreten zaubern, und der Große Saal zaubert mit… Hans-Christoph Rademann modelliert die Stimmungswechsel der [Nelson-] Messe plastisch und packend. Mit den 36 Sängerinnen und Sängern seines hellwachen Chores, mit denen er eine breite Palette an dynamischen Schattierungen auffächert und immer wieder berückende Farben findet. Mit dem nicht minder starken Orchester der Gaechinger Cantorey, das auf Historischen Instrumenten transparent und lebendig spielt.“

Nun kehren die Künstler mit Johann Sebastian Bachs Johannes-Passion zurück. Vor 299 Jahren uraufgeführt, zählt sie bis heute zu den ergreifendsten und zugleich effektvollsten Werken der Musikgeschichte. Der Evangelien-Bericht vom Leiden und Sterben Christi wird hier in äußerst anrührender Weise dargestellt. So vermag das Werk Trost und Zuversicht zu spenden, um uns in einer bis heute höchst unvollkommenen Welt, in der weiterhin Gewalt und Unrecht herrschen, zu engagieren.

Programm

J.S. Bach Johannes-Passion BWV 245

Gaechinger Cantorey
Hans-Christoph Rademann, Dirigent
Miriam Feuersinger, Sopran
Henriette Reinhold, Alt
Patrick Grahl, Tenor (Arien)
Benedikt Kristjansson, Tenor (Evangelist)
Matthias Winckhler, Bass (Christus)
Tobias Berndt, Bass (Arien und Pilatus)

Mitwirkende

JOHANNES-PASSION

GAECHINGER CANTOREY

Ensemble

Die Gaechinger Cantorey sind die Ensembles der Internationalen Bachakademie Stuttgart und vereinen europäische Spitzenmusiker unter dem Dirigat von Akademieleiter Hans-Christoph Rademann. Dieser Name markiert seit der Saison 2016/17 eine neue Zeitrechnung für die bereits weltbekannten Ensembles der Bachakademie, die jahrzehntelang als Bach-Collegium Stuttgart und Gächinger Kantorei Stuttgart unter Helmuth Rilling als Bach-Botschafter gewirkt haben. Nun verbinden sich ein neu gegründetes Barockorchester und der reformierte Chor zu einem homogenen Originalklangensemble. Ziel ist die Entwicklung eines neuen »Stuttgarter Bachstils«, der das Markenzeichen einer Bachakademie der Zukunft verkörpern wird.

JOHANNES-PASSION

Hans-Christoph Rademann

Dirigent

Der Dirigent  ist ein ungemein vielseitiger Künstler mit einem breiten Repertoire, der sich mit gleicher Leidenschaft der Aufführung und Wiederentdeckung Alter Musik wie der Uraufführung und Pflege Neuer Musik widmet. Geboren in Dresden und aufgewachsen im Erzgebirge (Schwarzenberg), wurde er früh geprägt von der großen mitteldeutschen Kantoren- und Musiktradition. Er war Schüler im traditionsreichen Kreuzgymnasium, Mitglied des berühmten Kreuzchors, der 2016 sein achthundertjähriges Bestehen feierte, und studierte an der Musikhochschule Dresden Chor- und Orchesterdirigieren.

PROMOTER

JOHANNES-PASSION

Details

Datum:
29. Januar 2023
Zeit:
20:00
Veranstaltungskategorie:

Veranstaltungsort

Elbphilharmonie – Großer Saal
Hamburg, Germany

Bleiben Sie mit unserem Newsletter auf dem Laufenden.

Entdecken
Ziehen