Subscribe to our newsletter





    Fest der Violinkunst

    gfbgfbgfbgfbgfb
    Lade Veranstaltungen
    Elbphilharmonie Hamburg
    Fr, 16 Dez 2022 20:00

    Fest der Violinkunst

    „Expressiver, kompromissloser als Gringolts kann man kaum Geige spielen“, schreibt Harald Eggebrecht in der Süddeutschen Zeitung über diesen Ausnahmemusiker. Schon mit 16 Jahren gewann Ilya Gringolts den renommierten Paganini-Wettbewerb. Seitdem stellt er seine Virtuosität in den Dienst feinsinniger Interpretationen. Gemeinsam mit der Camerata Bern präsentiert er ein Programm aus der Zeit vom Ende des 17. bis zum Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts, in der die Violinkunst in Italien zur Blüte gelangte: während die Geigenbauer die bis heute wertvollsten und bestklingenden Instrumente schufen, trieben die Musiker ihre Spieltechnik voran.

    Arcangelo Corelli (1653-1713) und Pietro Antonio Locatelli (1695–1764) waren als Meister ihres Instruments, Orchesterleiter, Komponisten und Lehrer in ganz Europa höchst einflussreich. Das berühmte Concerto in g-Moll des in der Kulturmetropole Rom lebenden Corelli, bei dem auch Locatelli Unterricht nahm, wurde am Weihnachtsabend 1690 in Anwesenheit des Papstes uraufgeführt. Die eindrucksvollen Capricen und Konzerte von Locatelli haben wiederum Spuren in Werken von Niccolò Paganini (1782-1840) hinterlassen. Mit seinem berührenden 1. Violinkonzert demonstrierte er auch seine übermenschlich erscheinenden technischen Fähigkeiten, für die er auf europaweiten Tourneen als Solist bewundert wurde. Ilya Gringolts und die Camerata Bern spielen das Konzert in der Originalversion in Es-Dur, die – weil technisch noch herausfordernder als die gängige Fassung in D-Dur – nur selten im Konzertsaal zu hören ist.

    Ilya Gringolts, Violine und Leitung

    View Artist Media

    Der Geiger Ilya Gringolts überzeugt mit hochvirtuosem Spiel und feinsinnigen Interpretationen und sucht dabei stets nach neuen musikalischen Herausforderungen. Als gefragter Solist widmet er sich neben dem großen Orchesterrepertoire auch selten gespielten sowie zeitgenössischen Werken; daneben gilt Ilya Gringolts‘ künstlerisches Interesse der historischen Aufführungspraxis. So schmücken virtuoses frühes Repertoire von Paganini, Locatelli oder Leclair seine Konzertprogramme. Zu Beginn des Jahres erfolgte die Uraufführung seines Arrangements von Beethovens Diabelli-Variationen. Neue Werke von Peter Maxwell Davies, Christophe Bertrand, Bernhard Lang, Beat Furrer und Michael Jarrell wurden von ihm aus der Taufe gehoben; Im Sommer 2020 gründeten Ilya Gringolts und Ilan Volkov die I&I Foundation zur Förderung zeitgenössischer Musik, die Aufträge an junge Komponist*innen vergibt. Eine erste Serie kurzer Solowerke entstand bereits in der vergangenen Saison, darunter Werke von Yu Kuwabara und Sky Maclachlan, die auf BBC Radio Scottish und an der Accademia Chigiana erstmals zu hören waren.

    View more

    Gemeinsam mit den Bamberger Symphonikern startete der Geiger beim Lucerne Festival in die aktuelle Saison und wirkte zudem als Solist beim Jubiläumskonzert zur Saisoneröffnung des Ensemble Resonanz in der Elbphilharmonie mit; Weitere Einladungen führen ihn außerdem u.a. zu den Wiener Symphonikern, dem RSO Wien, dem Budapest Festival Orchestra, Lahti Symphony Orchestra, dem SWR Symphonieorchester sowie dem Tonhalle-Orchester in seiner Heimatstadt Zürich.

    Ilya Gringolts konzertierte mit namhaften Orchestern wie dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, BBC Symphony Orchestra, Los Angeles Philharmonic, NHK Symphony Orchestra, dem Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, Singa¬pore Symphony Orchestra, Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Royal Stockholm Philharmonic, St. Petersburg Philharmonic, dem Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin und dem Mahler Chamber Orchestra. Jüngste Höhepunkte waren gemeinsame Projekte mit dem Santa Cecilia Orchestra, dem Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, Warsaw Philharmonic, sowie dem Orchestre National des Pays de la Loire. Play-Conduct-Projekte führten ihn jüngst mit dem Australian Chamber Orchestra, Franz Liszt Chamber Orchestra und in der Saison 2021/22 mit der Camerata Bern, dem Orchestra della Svizzeria Italiana und dem Ensemble Resonanz zusammen.

    Für seine mit dem Diapason d’Or und Gramophone Editor’s Choice Award prämierte Einspielung von Locatellis Il labirinto armonico (2021) leitete Ilya Gringolts das Finnish Baroque Orchestra ebenfalls vom Pult aus. Es folgte noch im selben Jahr die Solo-CD Ciaccona mit Werken von Bach, Pauset, Gerhard und Holliger, die ebenfalls den Gramophone Editor’s Choice Award erhielt. Seiner umfangreichen Diskografie mit hochgelobten CD-Produktionen u.a. für die Deutsche Grammophon, BIS und Hyperion, beinhaltet auch die von der Kritik gefeierte Einspielung von Paganinis 24 Capricen für Violine solo sowie den zweiten Teil seiner Einspielung des kompletten Violinwerks von Strawinsky (2018), aufgenommen mit dem Orquesta Sinfónica de Galicia unter Dima Slobodeniouk und ausgezeichnet mit dem Diapason d’Or.

    Als Primarius des Gringolts Quartetts feierte er Erfolge unter anderem bei den Salzburger Festspielen, beim Lucerne Festival, dem Edinburgh Festival, dem Concertgebouw Amsterdam, der Philharmonie Luxembourg, der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, dem Konzerthaus Dortmund oder dem Teatro La Fenice in Venedig. Als äußerst geschätzter Kammermusiker arbeitet Ilya Gringolts auch regelmäßig mit Künstlern wie James Boyd, Itamar Golan, Peter Laul, Aleksandar Madzar, Nicolas Altstaedt, Christian Poltera, David Kadouch, Antoine Tamestit und Jörg Widmann zusammen.

    Nachdem er zunächst Violine und Komposition in St. Petersburg bei Tatiana Liberova and Zhanneta Metallidi studiert hatte, setzte Ilya Gringolts sein Studium bei Itzhak Perlman an der Juilliard School fort. Er ist bis heute jüngster Gewinner des internationalen Violin-Wettbewerbs Premio Paganini (1998) und war BBC New Generation Artist der ersten Stunde. Neben seiner Tätigkeit als Professor an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste wurde ist Ilya Gringolts ab 2021 an die renommierten Accademia Chigiana in Siena berufen. Er spielt eine Violine von Stradivari (1718 „ex-Prové“).

    Camerata Bern

    View Artist Media

    Die CAMERATA BERN steht für Innovation und Qualität auf Spitzenniveau. Und dafür, mit viel Neugier und Spielfreude immer wieder neue Wege zu gehen, Grenzen auszuloten und mit mutigen Programmen das Publikum zu begeistern.

    Gegründet 1962 mit der Idee, als flexible Formation ohne Dirigenten zu konzertieren, ist die CAMERATA BERN heute ein international gefragtes Kammerorchester, dessen 15 Mitglieder allesamt auch hervorragende Solist:innen sind. Seit 2018 ist Patricia Kopatchinskaja dem Ensemble als Artistic Partner verbunden. Die CAMERATA BERN pflegt ein breites Repertoire von Barock bis Zeitgenössisch und spielt stets im Stehen. Ihre innovativen Programme jonglieren mit Epochen und Stilrichtungen und reichen von klassischen Konzertprogrammen bis hin zu inszenierten Konzerten, Kammermusikprojekten und Kinderkonzerten.

    View more

    Verwurzelt in Bern mit eigener Konzertreihe, gastiert sie regelmässig bei internationalen Festivals und in führenden Konzerthäusern in der Schweiz, in Europa sowie Nord- und Südamerika. Sie arbeitet dabei mit renommierten Künstler:innen zusammen, wie beispielsweise Antje Weithaas, Sergio Azzolini, Steven Isserlis, Ilya Gringolts, Anna Prohaska oder Kristian Bezuidenhout. Pro Saison lädt sie ebenfalls eine:n Composer in Residence ein, 2022/23 den deutschen Komponisten Jan Dvořák.

    Die Einspielungen des Ensembles haben mehrere internationale Auszeichnungen gewonnen, so etwa den Grand Prix du Disque, den Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik oder den Echo Klassik. Die letzten beiden CDs «Time & Eternity» mit Patricia Kopatchinskaja sowie «Plaisirs illuminés» mit Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Sol Gabetta und einem Auftragswerk von Francisco Coll (Composer in Residence 2018/19) wurden je für einen Gramophone Award nominiert. «Plaisirs illuminés» wurde 2022 ebenfalls mit dem BBC Music Magazine Award ausgezeichnet.

    Einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Musikvermittlung an Kinder leistet die CAMERATA BERN seit 2010 mit ihren regelmässigen Schulkonzertourneen im Kanton Bern. Damit konnten seither in über 250 Konzerten rund 18 000 Schulkinder kostenlos und niederschwellig Musik auf höchstem Niveau direkt in ihrem Klassenzimmer erleben.

    Die Stiftung CAMERATA BERN wird von der Stadt Bern, dem Kanton Bern und der Regionalkonferenz Bern-Mittelland subventioniert. Sie erhält Förderbeiträge von der Burgergemeinde Bern, der Ursula Wirz-Stiftung sowie weiteren Stiftungen, Partnern und Sponsoren.

    Im Jahr 2022 feiert die CAMERATA BERN ihr 60-jähriges Bestehen.

    Event Details

    Date: Dezember 16 @ 8:00 pm
    Time: 8:00 pm - 8:00 pm
    Venue: Elbphilharmonie Hamburg
    Address:

Subscribe to our newsletter





    Celebrating Violin Artistry

    gfbgfbgfbgfbgfb
    Loading Events
    Elbphilharmonie Hamburg
    Fri, 16 Dec 2022 20:00

    Celebrating Violin Artistry

    “You can hardly play the violin more expressively, more uncompromisingly than Gringolts,” writes Harald Eggebrecht in the Süddeutsche Zeitung about this exceptional musician. Ilya Gringolts won the renowned Paganini Competition at the age of 16. Since then, he has put his virtuosity at the service of subtle interpretations. Together with the Camerata Bern, he presents a programme of works from the end of the 17th to the beginning of the 19th century – the period in which violin artistry flourished in Italy: While violin makers were creating what are still the most valuable and best-sounding instruments, musicians were advancing their playing techniques.

    Arcangelo Corelli (1653-1713) and Pietro Antonio Locatelli (1695-1764) were highly influential throughout Europe as masters of their instruments, conductors, composers, and teachers. The famous Concerto in G minor by Corelli, who lived in the cultural metropolis of Rome and who counted Locatelli amongst his pupils, was premiered on Christmas Eve in 1690 before the Pope. Locatelli’s impressive caprices and concertos in turn left their mark on works by Niccolò Paganini (1782-1840). With his moving Violin Concerto No. 1, he demonstrated his seemingly superhuman technical abilities, for which he was admired as a soloist on tours throughout Europe. Ilya Gringolts and the Camerata Bern perform the concerto in its original version in E flat major, which is even more technically challenging than the widely used version in D major and therefore rarely heard in the concert hall.

    Ilya Gringolts, violin and direction

    View Artist Media

    The violinist Ilya Gringolts wins over audiences with his highly virtuosic playing and sophisticated interpretations and is always seeking out new musical challenges. As a sought-after soloist, Ilya Gringolts devotes himself to the great orchestral repertoire as well as to contemporary and rare works; he is also interested in historical performance practices. His concert programmes include virtuosic early repertoire by Paganini, Leclair, and Locatelli. At the beginning of the year, he premiered his own arrangement of Beethoven’s Diabelli Variations. He also launched new works by Peter Maxwell Davies, Christophe Bertrand, Bernhard Lang, Beat Furrer, and Michael Jarrell. and premieres by Augusta Read Thomas, Michael Jarrell, Christophe Bertrand, and Albert Schnelzer. In the summer of 2020, Ilya Gringolts and Ilan Volkov founded the I&I Foundation for the promotion of contemporary music, which awards commissions to young composers. A first series of short solo works was created last season, including works by Yu Kuwabara and Sky Maclachlan, which debuted on BBC Radio Scottish and at the Accademia Chigiana.

     

    View more

    Together with the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra, the violinist started the current season at the Lucerne Festival and also appeared as soloist at the anniversary concert for the season opening of Ensemble Resonanz in the Elbphilharmonie. Further invitations have also taken him to the Vienna Symphony Orchestra, the RSO Vienna, the Budapest Festival Orchestra, Lahti Symphony Orchestra, the SWR Symphony Orchestra, and the Tonhalle Orchestra in his hometown of Zurich, among others.

    Ilya Gringolts has performed with renowned orchestras such as the Bavarian Radio Sympho-ny Orchestra, BBC Symphony Orchestra, Los Angeles Philharmonic, NHK Symphony Orches-tra, Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, Singapore Symphony Orchestra, Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Royal Stockholm Philharmonic, St. Petersburg Philharmonic, Deutsches Sym-phonie-Orchester Berlin and the Mahler Chamber Orchestra. Recent highlights have been joint projects with the Santa Cecilia Orchestra, Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, Warsaw Philharmonic, and the Orchestre National des Pays de la Loire. From the instrument, he has recently conducted projects with the Australian Chamber Orchestra, Franz Liszt Chamber Orchestra, and in the 2021/22 season the Camerata Bern, the Orchestra della Svizzeria Italiana, and Ensemble Resonanz.

    For his Diapason d’Or and Gramophone Editor’s Choice Award-winning recording of Locatelli’s Il labirinto armonico (2021), Ilya Gringolts also led the Finnish Baroque Orchestra from the podium. This was followed in the same year by the solo CD Ciaccona with works by Bach, Pauset, Gerhard, and Holliger, which also received the Gramophone Editor’s Choice Award. His extensive discography of highly acclaimed CD productions for Deutsche Grammophon, BIS, and Hyperion, among others, also includes the critically acclaimed recording of Paganini’s 24 Caprices for solo violin and the second part of his recording of the complete violin works of Stravinsky (2018), recorded with the Orquesta Sinfónica de Galicia under Dima Sloboden-iouk and awarded the Diapason d’Or.

    As first violinist of the Gringolts Quartet, he has enjoyed great success at the Salzburg Festival, Lucerne Festival, Edinburgh Festival, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Philharmonie Luxembourg, Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, Konzerthaus Dortmund, and Teatro La Fenice in Venice. A highly esteemed chamber musician, Ilya Gringolts regularly collaborates with artists such as James Boyd, Itamar Golan, Peter Laul, Aleksandar Madzar, Nicolas Altstaedt, Christian Poltera, David Kadouch, Antoine Tamestit, and Jörg Widmann.

    After studying violin and composition in St. Petersburg with Tatiana Liberova and Zhanneta Metallidi, he attended the Juilliard School of Music, where he studied with Itzhak Perlman. He won the International Violin Competition Premio Paganini (1998) and is still the youngest winner in the competition’s history; he was also named a BBC New Generation Artist at the outset of his career. In addition to his professor position at the Zurich University of the Arts, Ilya Gringolts was appointed to the renowned Accademia Chigiana in Siena in 2021. He plays a Stradivari (1718 “ex-Prové”) violin.

    Season 2021/22

    Camerata Bern

    View Artist Media

    CAMERATA BERN combines innovation and quality at the highest possible level. Full of curiosity and joy in playing, the ensemble forges new paths, tests limits, and delights audiences with daring programs.

    Founded in 1962 with the goal of performing as a flexible formation without conductor, CAMERATA BERN is today a world-renowned chamber orchestra with 15 members, all outstanding soloists. Patricia Kopatchinskaja has been Artistic Partner of the ensemble since 2018.

    View more

    CAMERATA BERN plays repertoire stretching from baroque to contemporary, performing standing up and without conductor. The ensemble’s innovative programming combines different periods and styles and ranges from classical concert programs to staged concerts, chamber music projects, and children’s concerts. With its own concert series in Bern and strong ties to the city, the ensemble also appears regularly at international festivals and at leading concert halls in Switzerland, in Europe, in North and South America, and in Asia. CAMERATA BERN performs with high-profile artists such as Antje Weithaas, Sergio Azzolini, Steven Isserlis, Ilya Gringolts, Anna Prohaska, or Kristian Bezuidenhout. Each season the ensemble selects a composer in residence, in 2022/23 the German composer Jan Dvořák.

    Recordings on CD and vinyl have won several international awards, such as the Grand Prix du Disque, the German Record Critics’ Award or the Echo Klassik. The two most recent CD releases, «Time and Eternity» with Patricia Kopatchinskaja and «Plaisirs illuminés» with Patricia Kopatchinskaja and Sol Gabetta and featuring a commissioned piece by Francisco Coll (Composer in Residence 2018/19), were both nominated for a Gramophone Award. «Plaisirs illuminés» was also awarded the BBC Music Magazine Award in 2022.

    CAMERATA BERN carries out significant work in music education for children, performing regular school concert tours in the Canton of Bern. Since 2010, in more than 250 concerts, around 18 000 school children have been able to experience music of the highest level in an accessible way in their own classrooms.

    The CAMERATA BERN foundation is subsidized by the city of Bern, the Canton of Bern and the regional conference Bern-Mittelland. The foundation receives support from the Burgergemeinde Bern, the Ursula Wirz Foundation as well as other foundations, partners and sponsors.

    In the year 2022, CAMERATA BERN celebrates the 60th anniversary of its founding.

    Event Details

    Date: December 16 @ 8:00 pm
    Time: 8:00 pm - 8:00 pm
    Venue: Elbphilharmonie Hamburg
    Address: